We All Matter

I’m not sure how one begins to process the last several days that was ISTE 2011. The networking, connecting, conversing, and learning. It was all in abundance. Prior acquaintances, lots of new ones, and we even were able to squeeze in a little bit of fun I’d say. πŸ™‚ I was asked more than once what was my number one takeaway from the conference. I don’t know that I’ll ever be able to manage that. Can anyone? I’m sure some can but seems awfully hard for me. I want to culminate it all into being better at what I do for teachers and students which is to provide ideas, resources, and most of all ongoing support to make educational technology as seamless as possible. Like Chris Lehmann always says it should be ubiquitous, like oxygen. Like Bill Ferriter says, make it about the verbs, not the tools. As I always like to say, let’s get students creating more than they’re consuming.

This brings my thoughts to you. Each of you. Coming together each year to plan, prepare, and attend this great event. Some of you are veterans, some of you are newbies, some will be an attendee, and some will present their socks off. It doesn’t matter if it’s your first time or your fifth time, if you present or not. You didn’t even have to be there in person. The #ISTE11 hashtag was evident of that.

But none of that matters. What matters is you. We all matter. Everyone, no matter their role in this conference, matters. I sent this tweet out a couple days ago:

I hope each of you discovered that you have a voice for change. Whether it be through your blog, your tweets, or just in your own school. When it comes to changing education for the better (technology or not) we all have a voice and I encourage you to find it and cultivate it.

8 Comments on “We All Matter”

  1. Lee Kolbert says:

    Yes we do, Kyle. We all matter. Thanks for your post; clearly written from your heart. This is exactly what I tried to convey in my post: (Edublogger Snobs? Stop The Whining Already http://www.leekolbert.com/2011/07/edublogger-snobs-stop-whining-already.html ) However, you said it much more eloquently.

  2. Larissa says:

    I have been seeing all these post about ISTE and I was very curious about what it was? But about your post and your tweet. Thanks for the words of encouragement. I am going into my 3rd year of teaching and am taking on some new leadership roles within my school. I needed to hear your encouragement. It is very easy to sell myself short. Thanks!

    • Kyle Pace says:

      Thank you Larissa and please please don’t sell yourself short. Congrats on the new leadership role within your school. Take it by the horns and be a voice for change. You were chosen for a reason. πŸ™‚

  3. Kyle, that was very similar to one of my big takeaways from ISTE, which I’m hoping to make time to blog about soon. Taking action on what I’m learning, bringing it home and sharing it with my colleagues, is one of my big goals for the coming year. Even though I gain a tremendous amount personally from the connections I have with other people at ISTE, on Twitter, and through other means, unless I leverage those connections and my learning to accomplish something within my own sphere of influence, what does it matter how many followers I have or how many rockstars I know or how many blogs I read?

    • Kyle Pace says:

      Thank you Gerald for your comment. It’s so cliche’ but we all really do need to be the change we want to see. We’re all capable of it and all our voices coming together can make it happen.

  4. Love this post! I agree that coming up with one main take-away from the conference is tough, but the importance of finding and cultivating a voice for change is pretty close to perfect. Every person who attended ISTE (in person and virtually) mattered…and what they do with their new learning matters, too.

    • Kyle Pace says:

      Thanks for your comment Angela. There’s no doubt that ISTE can be a catalyst, but the conference doesn’t do it, all of us do. We have to want it for our schools and students. It takes everyone that’s for sure. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

