What was your moment? A call to share the positives.

Lightbulbphoto © 2010 Duncan Geere | more info (via: Wylio)

We’ve had lots of momentous events happen around the world this year wouldn’t you say? Everything from natural disasters to a fairytale wedding to the end of a reign of terror. We’ve had lots of highs, and plenty of lows. There are many events I have shared online with the fellow teachers (friends) that I’m connected to in my PLN.  The spectrum of emotion is wide. Loss of loved ones, marriages, plenty of birthdays, certain chapters closing, new chapters beginning, and most recently the beginning of a new life. I’m feeling pretty privileged to have experienced so much with so many great people through social media. I continue to be amazed by the power of the connections we have with each other as teachers and as people sharing in this space, and especially the connections we make for our students. Connected learning is outstanding. This is my #edumoment.

As we wrap up the 2010-2011 school year, I ask you, what was your #edumoment? If you had to pick a defining moment as a teacher, administrator, or learner; or a moment that defined a positive shift in the culture or the face of learning in your school, what would that be? It can even be something that began this year that is leading to something even greater for next year. You get the idea. Nothing is too small.

So it made me wonder: what if we started a hashtag to finish up the 2010-2011 school year? I know some are finishing up now and some still have another month or so, but it’d be great to culminate the year with lots of positive vibes. I think this could be a pretty powerful expression (in 140 characters or less) of all the awesome things happening all over the world in our schools despite the negative that the media always seems to prefer.

Start tweeting your best moments of the 2010-2011 school year using the hashtag #edumoment . Spread it around like crazy. Let’s see how far we can make this reach! Thanks!

2 Comments on “What was your moment? A call to share the positives.”

  1. kiwitecchie says:

    Hi Kyle
    I really enjoyed reflecting on this post. I’m a teacher in New Zealand but I’ve recently left school for a while to study full-time for my Masters in Teaching / Education. I left after one term so it’s been a bit like the end of year in the US I guess.
    My classroom culture encourages everyone, including me, to always be a learner and to never stop learning. This year, we set up individual blogs for the students – all 9 / 10 year olds. They really took to these and had strong beliefs about the importance of blogging and sharing their learning. They linked to each other’s blogs and left many constructive comments. (They are clear about the importance of feedback in learning).
    One day, they said to me “Why haven’t we linked to your blog Mrs H, you’re a learner too.” This made me think and we started off a discussion. They were spot on – I am also a learner and I have learned as much from my students over the years as they have, hopefully, learned from me. One student said, “We may not always understand what you are writing about, but we can learn and be part of your learning.” This was an absolute ‘WOW’ moment for me and one that stands out in 12 years of teaching and learning.
    When I left I got so many beautiful flowers and amazing gifts, but the best gifts were the messages in the cards, all said something about being proud of me showing that I still wanted to keep learning… and they are only 9 and 10.
    When things get tough, when we fight things like standards and the many other issues faced by teachers, this is what will always stand out for me.

    Justine

  2. Kyle – we asked teachers to share something similar on our Facebook page – their Aha! moment this year.


Leave a Reply

