Leveling Things Out

Levelphoto © 2011 Anne Hornyak | more info (via: Wylio)

I watched a TEDxNYED video this morning with Will Richardson. If you have a spare 14 minutes be sure to check it out. After watching this video (twice) I had more questions than answers of course. It was mentioned in the video about how we still have some students that don’t have the benefit of devices or connectivity at home. Will had also mentioned that this should almost be made a moral imperative for our students. Agreed! If we want our students to be lifelong learners and create and communicate to foster what their passion(s) is/are, then why has this not been made a priority? Perhaps because we focus more on “test prep” than “life prep” (mentioned in the video)? Who is going to make this happen? Our U.S. Department of Education? Google’s new broadband service? Who?!?

Are we expected to figure this out in our own schools and districts?  Do we just tell kids to “go to the library” or say “not my problem” when they tell us they don’t have access to this great stuff at home? What about the role parents play in this?

It’s time to level this playing field for our students. Look at what’s out there! Look at who’s out there! We must do more to tap into that. Our students are ready. Why isn’t our education system? I think Will answers this by bringing up this important point here in the TED talk.

I’d love to hear thoughts on this, as well as examples of action that is being taken (no matter how small) to ensure things are (becoming) leveled out for all students.

Lots of questions….whew! Thanks for reading. Be sure to check out Will Richardson’s complete TEDxNYED video below. 

5 Comments on “Leveling Things Out”

  1. Applauding from Lawrence, Kyle. 🙂 I’m seeing more and more threads and hearing more conversations around apprenticeship, learning…. Why is education rigid ages 5-22 and a culture of testing? What about the culture of learning at ages 0-5 and 22-92? … That seems to be working… Back to watching Will Richardson.

    • Kyle Pace says:

      I remember standardized testing from when I was in elementary school, it was the ITBS (Iowa Test of Basic Skills). I just don’t remember my teachers being so hardcore about it like teachers today feel like they have to do.

  2. Josh says:

    I really wonder if those questions will ever be answered. Could the US really come to a consensus on them? And is that OK? It’s not, but…I don’t know. I love Will’s video (we discussed it in my Social Learning grad class). I just wonder how long we’ll continue to focus so heavily on standardization.

    • Kyle Pace says:

      I am really wondering more about the part Google could/will/might play in all of this. They’re giving free service to Kansas City, KS School District and to the entire city. Granted, that’s not putting devices in students’ hands, but it’s a start towards something (IMHO).

  3. Thank you for sharing this great Ted video.

    I’m a mother of 2 kids ages 16 and 6 and both have been diagnosed as having LD issues. I’ve watched my oldest try so hard to succeed academically as well as socially and it was terribly painful. I always use the square peg round hole analogy. We are currently fighting to get through high school in a very competitive school district and it’s frightening. I look at my little guy who is 6 and part of an Early Childhood Development program since the age of 3 and immediately think what obstacles will he face? As a result, I’ve really become engaged in education. So much so that I’m actually considering going back to school to get a degree in teaching. I read hundreds of posts and participate in Twitter and webinars and come away with that terrible feeling that NOW IS THE TIME and I can’t wait to get a degree in “old school” education. I’ve also realized that the current system stifles not only the students but the teachers! Fact is I’ve realized that I can’t work in such a strict environment. So here I am, a 42 year old mom with no degree on a mission to learn as much as I can online so I could pass it on to my kids. Time’s a wasting.
    Thank you again for sharing this video.


Leave a Reply

